Channeltivity's Deal Registration module gives you a lot of flexibility in creating workflows to manage the Deal Registration approval process. The Registration Status field on the Deal Registration indicates the Step in the workflow. The field is visible to all types of Users, but can only be changed by an Internal User. 


This article takes you through some common Deal workflow configurations and explains how the different Workflow Step types can be used. 



Managing Deal Registration Workflow Steps


The Deal Registration workflow can be found in Settings > Deal Registration > Registration Status Workflow. Use the on-screen buttons to create new Workflow Steps or edit existing ones by clicking Edit in the context menu next to each Step:



The Deal Registration Workflow page features the following columns:

  • Workflow Step: The name of the Step. 
  • Deals: How many Deal Registrations are currently in this Step.
  • Open: Whether the approval process is still in progress (a check mark) or completed (no check mark).
  • Approved: Deal Registrations in this Step have been accepted.

  • Denied: Deal Registration in this Step have been rejected.

  • Default for New Registrations: All partner-created Deal Registrations start in this Step. 

  • (optional) Can Expire: If you have Deal Expiration enabled, a checkbox in this column indicates that Deals in this Step can be assigned an expiration date and will show up as "Expired" if that date passes.

  • (optional) Expired: Again, this column only shows up if you have Deal Expiration enabled. A checkbox in this column indicates that any Deals that expire (see previous column) will be set to this Step.



Creating a new Workflow Step:


Creating a new Workflow Step is easy: 

  • Workflow Step: What you want to call the step in your Deal Registration workflow. Steps can be named anything, although we recommend using descriptive terms that are easy to understand.
  • There are four types of Workflow Steps: 
    • Open: The Deal is neither approved nor denied
    • Open: Approved: The Deal is approved for now, but still being worked on. Use this step for approvals that expire.
    • Closed: Approved: The Deal is approved and no longer being worked on. 
    • Closed: Denied: The Deal is denied.
  • Default Workflow Step for newly registered Deals: Only available for Steps of the type "Open", check this box make this the default Workflow Step when a new Deal is registered by a Partner.
  • Deals can expire in this Workflow Step: This checkbox is only visible if you have Deal Expiration enabled and can only be checked if the Type is set to "Open" or "Open: Approved". Checking the box indicates that Deals in this Step can be assigned an expiration date and will show up as "Expired" if that date passes.
  • Set expired Deals to this Workflow Step: Again, this checkbox only shows up if you have Deal Expiration enabled. It can only be checked if the Type is set to "Closed: Denied". Checking the box indicates that any Deals that expire (see previous column) will be set to this Step. This is an optional feature.



You can create any number of Steps, but at minimum need at least one Step of each of the following types:

  • Open with the "Default Workflow Step for newly registered Deals" box checked
  • Closed: Approved
  • Closed: Denied



Example 1: Basic Workflow


Out of the box, Channeltivity comes configured with a basic Deal Registration workflow: 


There are four Steps in this basic workflow:

  • New (Open) is where each new Deal Registration starts when they're submitted by the partner. Note the "Default for New Registrations" check mark. 
  • In Progress (Open) indicates that the Deal is being reviewed. 
  • Approved (Closed) 
  • Rejected (Closed) 

This is about as simple as you can go, although you could remove the "In Progress (Open)" Step if you wanted to. 



Example 2: Workflow with Pre-Approval and Expiration


This example features Deal pre-approval and Deal Expiration. Qualifying Deals are pre-approved for 90 days (and set to Step 3) and then automatically set to the "Expired (Closed)" step if the Partner doesn't set the sales stage to Won or Lost before then.


Here are the corresponding Deal Expiration settings (accessed via Settings > Deal Registration > Deal Module Settings). Related info: How to Configure Deal Expiration