Channeltivity's Deal Registration module gives you a lot of flexibility in creating workflows to manage the Deal Registration approval process. The approval process is managed using the Registration Status field on the Deal Registration. The field is visible to all types of Users, but can only be edited by Internal Users with Deal Registration access.
This article takes you through some common Deal workflow configurations and explains how the different types of Steps can be used.
Managing Deal Registration Workflow Steps
You can view and configure the Registration Status Workflow by going to Settings > Deal Registration > Registration Status Workflow. The page features the following columns of data:
- Workflow Step: The name of the Step.
- Deals: How many Deal Registrations are currently in this Step.
- Open: Whether the approval process is still in progress (a checkmark) or completed (no checkmark).
Approved: Deal Registrations in this Step have been accepted.
Denied: Deal Registration in this Step have been rejected.
Default for New Registrations: All partner-created Deal Registrations start in this Step.
(optional) Can Expire: If you have Deal Expiration enabled, a checkbox in this column indicates that Deals in this Step can be assigned an expiration date and will show up as "Expired" if that date passes.
(optional) Expired: Again, this column only shows up if you have Deal Expiration enabled. A checkbox in this column indicates that any Deals that expire (see previous column) will be set to this Step.
Creating a new Workflow Step:
You can use the "New Workflow Step" button to create new Steps and you can edit existing ones by clicking the "Actions" and "Edit" buttons.
When creating a new Step or editing and existing one, you'll need to complete the following details:
- Workflow Step Name: The name of your workflow Step should align with the Step type (see next line).
- Type: There are four types of Steps used to indcate the status of the Deal:
- Open:Pending: The Deal is neither approved nor denied.
- Open: Pre-approved: The Deal is approved but still being worked on which means it's still open. Use this Step for approvals that expire.
- Closed: Approved: The Deal is approved and no longer being worked on which means it's closed.
- Closed: Denied: The Deal is denied/rejected which means it's closed.
- Default Workflow Step for newly registered Deals: Check this box to make an "Open" Step in the workflow the default Step when a new Deal is registered by a Partner.
- Deals can expire in this Workflow Step (Optional): This checkbox becomes visible when you enable Deal Expiration. Checking the box indicates that Deals in this Step can be assigned an expiration date and will show up as "Expired" if that date passes. This checkbox can only be enabled for "Open" and "Open: Approved" Steps.
- Set expired Deals to this Workflow Step (Optional): Again, this checkbox only shows up if you have Deal Expiration enabled. It can only be checked if the Type is set to "Closed: Denied". Checking the box indicates that any Deals that expire (see previous column) will be set to this Step. This is an optional feature.
You can create any number of Steps, but at minimum you need at least one Step of each of the following types:
- Open with the "Default Workflow Step for newly registered Deals" box checked
- Closed: Approved
- Closed: Denied
Example 1: Basic Workflow
Out of the box, Channeltivity comes configured with a basic Deal Registration workflow:
There are four Steps in this basic workflow:
- New (Open) is where each new Deal Registration starts when they're submitted by the partner. Note the "Default for New Registrations" checkmark.
- In Progress (Open) indicates the Deal is still open and in review.
- Approved (Closed) indicates the Deal is Approved and now closed.
- Rejected (Closed) indicates the Deal was rejected and now closed.
This is about as simple as you can go, although you could remove the "In Progress (Open)" Step if you wanted to.
Example 2: Workflow with Pre-Approval and Expiration
This example features Deal pre-approval and Deal Expiration. Qualifying Deals are pre-approved for 90 days (and set to Step 3) and then automatically set to the "Expired (Closed)" Step if the Partner doesn't set the Deal Sales Stage to Won or Lost before then.
Here are the corresponding Deal Expiration settings (accessed via Settings > Deal Registration > Deal Module Settings). Related info: How to Configure Deal Expiration.